Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Difficulties With my New Plane

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Difficulties With my New Plane

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2003, 09:41 PM
bobs_201
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Difficulties With my New Plane

I have a Nexstar....ToDAY, i tried cranking it for the first time....As soon as i got it crank, it ran a while, but it ran sort of quit as if it was it was about to "choke off," I advanced the throttle a little and the plane just shut off. I tried cranking it again and it never recranked...it got to a point where the propellor was stiff and did not want to turn....then gas started to leak from the muffler....

I am totally brand new to Nitro...anyone with any responses or suggestions???
Old 12-15-2003, 10:24 PM
Crash Master

Default RE: Difficulties With my New Plane

Sounds like it is running way to rich and it flooded. I assume that you read the directions on the recommended way to break in the new motor (they need to be broken-in in order to run properly).

The best thing you can do is to find yourself an RC club and ask one of the more experienced pilots to help you get it tuned after it has been broken in.

Just mho,
Old 12-15-2003, 10:27 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Your engine is very flooded. Hold it muffler-side-down, and move the prop back and forth to let the fuel out of the cylinder. It should then turn over easy again. Close the needle valve all the way, then open it about 1 and 1/2 turns. Try flipping the prop, if it doesn't start, add a few drops of fuel to the carb and try again.

If it starts, and dies, it is either flooded again, or lean (too little fuel). You already know the flooded symptoms, if it's lean, a few more drops in the carb will let it start again. If that's the case, open the needle valve 1/4 turn and try again. Repete until it stays running.