Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Instructor's Warning about the Nexstar!

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Instructor's Warning about the Nexstar!

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2003, 02:25 AM
bman1128

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Instructor's Warning about the Nexstar!

I was helping a new member with his Nexstar.... I have been an instructor for our club for about a year... and have worked with a total of 4 guys... no crashes yet!

This new member is very green and thought he could take it up on his own... relying on the AFS (aircraft flight stabilization....not sure of exact name) that works to keep the plane level if you let go of controls.... it uses a light sensor on the bottom of fuselage to determine the angle of the plane ... in relation to up ... it assumes the light source is overhead.

Keep in mind, bright days are not optimal for flying this... overcast would be best.

I had read some reviews about the plane and understood how it was supposed to work. Anywhos, I talked him into a buddy box flight and I took off and trimmed it... quite an experience for someone used to total control.

Do to time constraints, we didn't wait for the sun to be directly overhead... He put the plane on the ground with wing pointing toward sun... and waited until the shadow from wingtip covered main wheel... he said the instructions said you could safely fly after the sun's angle was at 30-40 degrees... which is about what it would need to be to cast the wingtip shadow over wheel.

The close call(s) came on takeoff... (every takeoff) because our runway faces into the sun. On takeoff... you normally gain speed ... pull back a little to raise nose and then let plane climb, right?