Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

HOBBICO AVISTAR HELP!

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

HOBBICO AVISTAR HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2004, 09:49 PM
DFalpha
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HOBBICO AVISTAR HELP!

for my first GLow plane Im going to get a RTF hobbico avistar...... can somone here tell me what other gear I need..? I know i need glow plug and field pump... can I have some advice on exactly waht to get....... I know nothing about Glow im an eletrci pilot
Old 04-01-2004, 10:19 PM
FHHuber
Banned

Default RE: HOBBICO AVISTAR HELP!

Assuming you got the "Avistar Select" package deal that includes engine and radio... You need:

Fuel
Fuel pump
Glow igniter
Most people are going to tell you you HAVE to get an electric starter with 12 v battery or a "chicken stick."

Recommended...

2 spare propellers, 11X5 size for a .46 engine, 11X4 for a .40 (for the Avistar)
1 or 2 spare glow plugs (O.S. #8. Cheap glow plugs just don't work as well or last as long.)

Fuel runs $12 to $30 a gallon. I recommend 10% nitro content which is in the lower price range and will work very well. (I fly my .30 power heli with 10%... I fly EVERY glow power thing I have that is > .10 powered with 10%.) Higher nitro can give more power... but its cheaper to get more power by getting a better engine.

The "Six Shooter" fuel pump will last you many years. Its about $25. The $10 Hobbico and similar pumps tend to break within a year. The old style fuel bulbs are about $8... may as well get a pump.

The Glow igniter can cost from $12 to $35... The $12 one is fine. I haven't been able to see much difference in results except the ones with a built in meter tell you when the glow plug is burned out.

A Chicken stick is a 8 to 9 inch dowel with a piece of rubber heater hoze on it. Costs near nothing to make one... costs up to $10 to buy one.... make it, don't buy it.