Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Trainer Airplane

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Trainer Airplane

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2005, 06:21 PM
newtoplanes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trainer Airplane

As you can see from my user name I am new to airplanes.
I have been flying RC helis for 4 years and decided to try a plank.

I have a few questions.
I got an Avistar ARF kit, OS .40FX and a Futaba 7CAP radio with 3151 servos.
Will the 3151 servos work OK ? I did notice in the instruction booklet they had 3003 servos installed.[X(]
Will the Avistar work OK as a trainer?
I got this airplane as a Christmas present from the wife but Tower Hobbies says the plane is an advanced trainer.

I have been reading old posts and seen that most experienced builders end up modifying their ARF kits.
This is my first airplane build, so is there any building tips for the Avistar?
I will be getting an Instructor.

Thanks,
Rick
Old 01-04-2005, 06:30 PM
rusirius

Default RE: Trainer Airplane

First, the avistar is a great kit, you'll be happy with it for a while. To answer your questions....

Yes, the 3151's will work, but honestly they are overkill.... The 3151's are BB and digital.. neither of which will do you any good whatsoever on a trainer like the avistar... If they are what you have, then use them now, and when you "upgrade" to something more precise like a pattern plane or something like that, move the 3151's to it and replace the trainer servos with some standard $10 servos...

The avistar will work great as a trainer. It's a really great flying plane... Tower says it's "advanced" because it has a semi-semmetrical airfoil... It still has plenty of lift and dihedral... It'll train just fine, but you won't get bored with it NEARLY as fast as you would a standard flat bottom.