Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Is learning with a buddy box needed

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Is learning with a buddy box needed

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2005, 12:10 AM
panzerd18

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is learning with a buddy box needed

I'm new to model R/C so if I sound like a noob, best chances I am a noob!

Anyway when learning to fly is a buddy box to your instructors radio needed? Has anyone learnt without a buddy box with the instructor over your shoulder. I'm not a total hack as I have flown real aircraft solo (have only 35hours) so I know the principles of flight however flying R/C is a lot different.

Am saying this because very few people have Airtronics radios in Australia. Therefore instructors with another airtronics radio I can join mine too would be nearly non existent.
Old 10-09-2005, 12:20 AM
the_madgenius

Default RE: Is learning with a buddy box needed

panzerd18, YES, it is possible to learn to fly without the buddy system. When i learnt to fly there was no such thing as buddy cord.As an istructor i have taught many people to fly without the buddy system for that reason, no match up. One thing you can do to help you along is go to your library and ask for David Boddington's book called "Basic Radio Control Flying" Read it carefully, and with that knowledge and an instructor you will have no problems. Iwish you all the best in modelling and many happy hours of flying.
the_madgenius
Old 10-09-2005, 12:29 AM
panzerd18

Cool thanks for your response. I want to get the Airtronics VG6000 and if you can learn without a buddy box then this transmitter will suit me fine.
Old 10-09-2005, 12:32 AM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

panzerd18,
It is totally possible to learn without a buddy box. That's the way I learned to fly. Just make sure to not fight the instructor when he tries to take the radio back.