Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Building a flight box

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Building a flight box

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2003, 09:58 PM
nova40

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building a flight box

I've been flying for a few months now, using a small plastic fishing-tackle type flight box i got with my kit. It holds all my spares ok but theres only just room for my new flight panel (used to use a glostart) and battery, with no room for fuel. Id like to scratch-build my own box with room for all my gear, including tx. does anybody have any pointers/suggestions? Any advice on design or construction would be much appreciated.
Old 01-15-2003, 10:15 PM
den1tjb

If making a single box big enough to hold all the gear, I would suggest putting it on wheels. The flight box I custom made holds everything but the TX (I built I separate box for those) and it is VERY heavy. I will post some pics later this evening when I get home from work. Just make something that you will enjoy. That is the great part about custom building your own!
Old 01-16-2003, 02:05 AM
den1tjb

Default Field Box

Home from work....here are some pictures of the field box. It has 4 drawers in the front with a removable starter battery and power panel. (if concealing the 12V battery, be sure to allow proper ventilation while charging. It took one battery to teach me to put the cooling holes in)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	47644_21090.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	65.2 KB
ID:	29446  
Old 01-16-2003, 02:06 AM
den1tjb

Default Another...

Here it is with the battery removed.

Name:	47645_21090.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	65.6 KB
ID:	29447  
Old 01-16-2003, 02:07 AM
den1tjb

Default The TX case

Here is the separate case I built for the TX.

Name:	47646_21090.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	65.6 KB
ID:	29448  
Old 01-16-2003, 02:11 AM
den1tjb

Default and finally