Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

whats the best p51 mustang for a first time builder?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

whats the best p51 mustang for a first time builder?

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2007, 09:16 PM
papaoneone

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default whats the best p51 mustang for a first time builder?

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie at plane building and would appreciate some advice on a good p51 mustang build, also any info on the best engine and radio equiptment would be helpful. I would like to stay in the size 40 range and I'm not afraid of a good challange but certanly don't want to go allout the first time.
I want to purchase a good Quality kit, no shortcuts something that would hold up to that hot rod engine you'd be suggesting!

Any advice from you pros?

Thanks,
Papaoneone
Old 01-07-2007, 09:34 PM
bigedmustafa
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: whats the best p51 mustang for a first time builder?

Actually, papaoneone, Ace Hobby makes a great little kit called the Simple Series Mustang:

http://www.thundertiger4u.com/mustan...s-p-11059.html

http://www.acehobby.com/ace/ACE4248.htm

The Simple Series kits can be powered with either a Thunder Tiger GP-07 glow engine or converted to electric power. They are fairly quick building, and would be a great introduction to kit construction at a low price if you haven't yet had the pleasure of building from a kit.

Another possibility for an easy kit to construct, but one that is far less scale, is the Tower Hobbies Fun 51 Profile kit:

http://www.towerhobbies.com/products/towa5010.html

While not exactly a scale replica of the original P-51 Mustang, the Tower Fun 51 kit is relatively easy to build, accepts standard .40-sized glow components, and is a blast to fly.