Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Sig four*40 kit

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Sig four*40 kit

Old 04-07-2007, 01:01 PM
mmh

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sig four*40 kit

Hi , I am new to this hobby and building my first kit. I ran into a problem and would appriciate some help on clearfying the following
I am trying to figure out the exact placement for the engine mounts on the firewall. The kit came with 2 glass filed mounts and the diagram said to mark the center line and the thrust line on the firewall but it does say if the mount needs to to alligned with the thrust line. I have an OS 40LA engine. Does the thrust line have to rn through the center of the engine? does the center of the mount have to be alligned with the thrust line?
Your help in this matter will be appriciated
Thanks
Old 04-07-2007, 02:00 PM
dingo9882

Default RE: Sig four*40 kit

Yes. Those line must line up in the center of the engine. CLamp the engine to the mounts or use Thin CA to hold it on and place that engine right in the center of those lines.
Old 04-07-2007, 02:42 PM
horace315
My Feedback: (15)

the kit i built had alignment marks on the mount itself and said to align the cross marks with that line,unless you are goint to mount the engine diagonally use those marks.
Old 04-07-2007, 04:00 PM
mmh

there are 2 lines on the mount which one shall i use and do i align it with the thrust line ?
thanks for helping
Old 04-07-2007, 05:08 PM
dingo9882

Yes, use both those lines. Those lines are there to help get the engine and the mounts in the correct position. The 4* already has thrust built into the airframe so you do not have to figuer that out for yourself. You will actually make a cross with the lines and you put the engine right in the middle of the lines. Let me just say though that the plane is such a forgiving plane you can be off a bit and it will still fly nice.
Old 04-07-2007, 05:26 PM
Insanemoondoggie