Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Broken Props

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Broken Props

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2007, 10:03 AM
LT40

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Broken Props

Well,
I am a new pilot just learning. I have an LT40 and its a nice flying plane.
The last time I went to the field, I landed my plane for the first time. Just
not on the runway. Hey, grass is grass. Well, last night at the field, I took
off by myself. Ugly, but ok. I landed 3 times last night. First time, no
problem. Slightly off runway, but still down. The next 2 flights, I broke a prop
on each landing. Pissed me off. I guess I just need to get a sim and practice.

Old 05-25-2007, 10:13 AM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts
Default RE: Broken Props

LT40,
It's great that you're progressing in your flying!!! Unfortunately broken props are just part of training. That's just the facts of the matter. The best thing I can say is to just stock up so that you don't get grounded by a broken prop. You didn't say what brand of props you were using but I usually recommend that my students buy Master Airscrew props for when they are learning. I recommend these because they are usually the lowest priced props out there and they can take a pretty good amount of punishment without breaking. This doesn't mean that they won't break, but they'll better absorb those dings and dents that are just part of learning to fly.

Hope this helps

Ken
Old 05-25-2007, 10:46 AM
LT40

Well,
I don't know the brand. They are wooden 10 6's.
When I bought my trainer , I bought 3 spare props
at that time. I'm glad I did.

Old 05-25-2007, 10:50 AM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

LT-40,