Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Flaperon mixing...

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Flaperon mixing...

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2007, 04:08 PM
chevy43

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flaperon mixing...

I'm new to flaperon mixing.. I have a Speedy Bee ( Sport plane with over 1 to 1 power to weight - light wing loading - big tail surfaces - and big barn door ailerons ) which I'd like to play with flaperon mixing. I'm pretty sure this plane will hang on it's prop but since the ailerons are a little outboad it might torque rool.

My radio is a Hitec Optic 6. Reciever is a Berg 7.

Any ideas how I could flaperon mix for fun?? Should I set it up like a control - line model where the ailerons go down whe the elvator goes up? I hope I can togle flaperon on and off. I'm going to have to study the manal...

How about using the ailerons as slow speed flaps? I have heard that can cause wing tip stall so I'm not too sure about that idea and I don't really need it anway as this thing should fly supper slowly.
Old 06-12-2007, 04:52 PM
chevy43

Default RE: Flaperon mixing...

Double post....
Old 06-13-2007, 02:41 AM
alan0899

G'day Mate,
Flaperon mixing is a mixture of 2 words flap & aileron, hence flaperon, this is where you have 2 servos, or more, controlling your ailerons, one for each side, you would set up flaperon mixing so that, you don't need a "Y" lead, then you can use the ailerons as normal, &/or use the ailerons as flaps for landing & take off, & retain aileron control.
Where you mix elevators & flaps, it is just that, an elevator to flap mix. But to do that you must have 2 servos, for your ailerons, otherwise, it won't work, because with one aileron servo, it can only make one aileron go up & the other must go down.
I hope that is clear, & I don't know if you plane has 2 aileron servos or just one in the middle of the wing.
Old 06-13-2007, 11:55 AM
chevy43

Thanks Alan,