Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Super Tigre or Magnum?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.
View Poll Results: A poll
Super Tigre G51
28.57%
Super Tigre GS-45
19.05%
Magnum XLS-46
33.33%
Doesn't make a heck of a difference
19.05%
Voters: 42. You may not vote on this poll

Super Tigre or Magnum?

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2008, 06:58 PM
Jetdesign
My Feedback: (8)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Super Tigre or Magnum?

Well everyone talks about the "Ford/Chevy" debate; I have yet to see on on this site =) So, here's a Toyota/Honda, if you will...
I'm a newbie, and poor at that, so I need to pick on of these engines:
Super Tigre G51 Ringed
Super Tigre GS-45 ABC
Magnum XLS-46 ABC

While there are 2 sized of SuperTigre, they seem to put out about the same amount of power due to the differences in construction (ABC vs Ring).

I will be flying a Hobbico Nexstar (.46-.51), with my eyes on a .40-.50 low-wing sport plane for #2.

I don't know how this works, but if you can add any comments, all are encouraged and appreciated - I've heard about a leaky carb in the Magnum, then about the ST so leaky you can't shut it off.

Thanks!!!
Old 03-13-2008, 07:10 PM
bigedmustafa
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Super Tigre or Magnum?

These are three of the best values in a .46-size sport engine on the market.

The G-45 ABC and the G-51 ringed appear similar in specified power output, but I'm told by folks who have run the G-51 ringed that it is good at swinging larger props like 12x5 or 12x6 at good rpms. The XLS .46A and the G-45 ABC wouldn't be comfortable with props of that size by most accounts.