Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Fuel proofing an LT-40

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Fuel proofing an LT-40

Old 08-18-2008, 01:08 PM
madmoe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel proofing an LT-40

Hi! I'm finally getting close to completing the construction of the fuselage in my LT-40 build but have a question. I know I need to fuel proof the fuel tank compartment behind the firewall, but have a few questions:

1) Do I also need to fuel proof the engine mounting area (forward of firewall), or is this protected by the covering material?
2) I had thought to use a fuel proof paint, but when I went to the my LHS, they didn't know what I was talking about. I know I can use thinned epoxy for the same purpose, but as I have never done it before, was a bit uneasy about that (afraid I would thin it too much and end up with a rubbery mess). Anyone have suggestions?

Thanks!
Old 08-18-2008, 01:45 PM
bigedmustafa
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Fuel proofing an LT-40

Don't sweat it! 50% alcohol and 50% 30 minute epoxy will fuel-proof your tank area and engine area nicely.
Old 08-18-2008, 01:47 PM
bingo field

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Which type of alcohol?
Old 08-18-2008, 02:12 PM
cappaj1
My Feedback: (1)

I have an LT-40 and I just used straight 30 minute epoxy painted on the entire engine compartment, fuel tank compartment, and also the piece of exposed plywood that extends out on top of the fuel compartment. It worked fine! You don't have to reduce it with alcohol at all. I used Tower Hobbies 30 minute epoxy. I just used a stiff little brush - one used normally for applying flux when soldering - and cleaned it off with isopropal alcohol beforehand and also when I was done. One suggestion is to remove the fuel tank cover when doing this or else you'll epoxy that to the top of the fuselage by accident.