Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Need Good Rudder Servo Advice...

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Need Good Rudder Servo Advice...

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2008, 06:46 PM
Jester241

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Good Rudder Servo Advice...

I'm just finishing rebuilding a Goldberg 77" Yak 54 my buddy crashed and gave me. The rudder on this thing is HUGE even for such a large plane. I know my buddy had some trouble getting the rudder to stop "fluttering". I guess it was more the tension on the piano wires on the pull-pull system. Regardless....this think requires a strong servo to controll its massive rudder. Could any of you guys suggest a good specific servo for me? I'm a futaba guy too,so I'd like to stick with futaba and I am on a tight budget so I need a good servo,but nothing overkill. I play around at 3D,but I'm no professional,so I dont need it to be perfect. I just dont want to kill the servo. So again,can anyone recommend a good futaba servo? There's so many,I dont know what to get.

The planes either going to have a GMS 1.20 in it,or an O.S. 1.60 if the 1.20 wont fly it.
Old 09-01-2008, 07:13 PM
overbored77
My Feedback: (11)

Default RE: Need Good Rudder Servo Advice...

Hitec 5625 or 5645 metal gear digital is perfect for this application.
futaba and JR are expensive in this range.
I would also reccomend metal gear digitals on all the control surfaces
at least 120+ oz in. If you are planning to do 3D

I had a 7lb Yak with a 1.20 and it was perfect for that size plane.
you might want to go with a 1.60 if you are planning to 3D and want
unlimited vertical performance.
Old 09-01-2008, 07:25 PM
Jester241