Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Help to patch balsa plane.

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Help to patch balsa plane.

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2008, 07:46 PM
RedGN

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help to patch balsa plane.

Hi, i am fairly new to balsa built planes. I've been flying foamies for just over a year now.

I recently purchase a GeeBee 25 ARF off of e-bay and during the build i rip a hole clean through one of the wings.

I need to know if I can patch this or do i have to re-cover the hole wing?

If i can patch it, what material do i use and how should i go about patching it.

Any help is appreciated
Thanks in advance
Old 09-09-2008, 10:02 PM
HighPlains
My Feedback: (1)

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Help to patch balsa plane.

Usually you just patch the covering with the same material. That might be difficult if you don't know what material was originally used. If you don't know which covering was used, you may have difficulty in matching color and with a different temperature range bonding it and shrinking it tight.

For very small patches you can use 3M Plastic tape which they call decorating and repair tape. It comes in a few colors, but also clear which is what I use. It comes in rolls at 1/2" and 1" wide.
Old 09-09-2008, 10:27 PM
opjose

When I THINK that I will be unable to match the color, I go the exact OPPOSITE direction.

e.g. I broke the bottom of the fuse of one plane.

I patched the area with an oversized swatch of darker ( in some cases lighter ) Ultra/Mono Kote, cut to a regular ( rectangular in this case ) shape. The patch merely attempts to match a darker color of the trim design, but it doesn't have to be exact.

At the edges I used Trim Striping to highlight the area I patched. Yes HIGHLIGHT....

The patch ends up looking like part of the original design and no one is the wiser.