Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

mode 1 or mode 2?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

mode 1 or mode 2?

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2008, 06:52 PM
dr don

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default mode 1 or mode 2?

Hi to all, I am trying to decide which mode to use. was trained on mode 1, several years ago, but to me as a pilot of full sized aircraft, mod 2 seems more logical. I am an electronics tech by profession, and just converted one of my transmitters to mode 2 to try, but was not as easy as I thought would be, even though are rated and fly full sized tail dragger with stick!
Do flyers think there is a trend towards mode 2 ?, or do you think mode 1 will be with us for a long time yet?
Your comments appreciated
Old 09-21-2008, 06:58 PM
aerowoof

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: mode 1 or mode 2?

most in the states use mode 2 but from reading alot of post from australlia use mode 1
Old 09-21-2008, 07:09 PM
Redback

Both Mode 1 and Mode 2 are likely to be around for the foreseeable future, and each have their supporters.

Most people go down one path or another based on what instructors are available. Flying full size generally does not help when learning to fly RC, some even say that it can be a handicap

Regards

Terry
Old 09-21-2008, 07:27 PM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

As was said above, a lot of what mode is used depends on where you live and where learned to fly. Here in the US Mode 2 is what about 98% fly. Other parts of the world fly Mode 1 instead. Converting between Mode 1 and Mode 2 is usually fairly easy as most of the major radio manufacturers will provide instructions for converting between them.

Ken
Old 09-21-2008, 07:33 PM
bjor

There's a 3 page thread on this in the Radio Forums.
Just stand back and watch the comments fly.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_1802229/tm.htm