Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Looking for Instructor/Mentor in Central Arkansas Area

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Looking for Instructor/Mentor in Central Arkansas Area

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2008, 02:00 PM
hemib

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for Instructor/Mentor in Central Arkansas Area

Hello, I am a complete rookie to RC aircraft and am looking for an Instructor in central Ark. area.I am 48 years old and am a Federal Security Officer.I have a Great Planes Perfect Trainer 60 with OS .60FP,converted to taildragger with functional ailerons. I have a Spektrum DX7 radio system. I am an AMA member and will join your local RC club.
I know there are several local clubs but do not know which ones are noobie friendly and how well fixed they are for Instructors. Thanks for all your help!!!!!!!!
Old 12-02-2008, 02:30 PM
carrellh

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Looking for Instructor/Mentor in Central Arkansas Area

The best thing to do is visit the local clubs and talk to a few people. You probably already have the AMA club finder bookmarked but here it is again
http://www.modelaircraft.org/clubsearch.aspx
Using zip code 72204 it finds 7 clubs within 25 miles. Some have web sites and all have a contact phone number.

Even though they all have an "Email Contact" link I recommend using the phone. People change email addresses and do not think to ask the AMA webmaster to update the page. People tend to keep a phone number for a long time so you're more likely to make contact via phone.

You need to find out when people are likely to be at the field so you can check it out and get a feeling for the overall atmosphere. This time of year there may not be a lot of flying going on. My brother and I went Saturday and there was one other person at the field.