Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2008, 05:42 AM
Guitarman52
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie

I am a novice flyer. I have been flying all summer with a Hobbico trainer. I go by myself occasionally now with little or no problems,,,,, broken prop once in a while. I bought an Ultra Stik 40 with a 55AX engine. I am using some parts from a wrecked trainer. servo's, battery, and the old radio. It is a Futaba T6EXAP. The battery is a 600 milliamp. My question is, will the radio I am using be good enough, or should I buy a computer 2.4 radio. If so, what would you recommend that won't break the bank, but one that will fly several other planes. Sorry for the stupid questions.
Old 12-04-2008, 06:31 AM
bkdavy
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Newbie

I assume you are talking about moving the reciever from the Hobbico Trainer to the Ultra-Stik. Since you didn't specifically mention which reciever you're using, I'm going out on a limb to say you should be fine. Read the manual on how to set things up. You said you're using the reciever from a wrecked trainer. If the reciever is either Futaba or Hitech, you should have no problems with the transmitter, but you'll need to make sure you purchase a reciever crystal to match the transmitter frequency. Since its coming from a wrecked trainer, inspect it very carefully for any signs of damage. If you have reason to suspect it, either send it to the manufacturer or just buy a new receiver.

Brad
Old 12-04-2008, 06:47 AM
flyfish28

"THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A STUPID QUESTION"

#1. Never go out and fly by yourself in case you should get cut by a prop, etc! Sometime's I get to our field early and I'm the only one there. I set up my plane but wait for somebody else to show-up prior to firing my engine.