Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Great Planes PT-40?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Great Planes PT-40?

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2008, 05:29 PM
Alex570

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Great Planes PT-40?

I'm new to RC airplanes and I would like to build a great planes PT-40 kit this winter. My grandpa fly's with a local flying club and will teach me how to fly and probably teach me how to cover the plane. Is this a good first airplane? I've never put a kit together but I can follow directions and I have worked with wood before and have some wood working tools. Is this plane easy to build? Are there any things I should know about it before building it? I plan on building it with the trainer dihedral but does the sport dihedral make it any harder to fly? What tools related to building RC planes should I get? Sorry for all the questions but I have never done this before. thanks
Old 12-08-2008, 05:46 PM
DadsToysBG
My Feedback: (35)

Default RE: Great Planes PT-40?

One of the best planes ever built as a trainer. As far has tools go your grandpa probably has them already and it would be fun to build it with him. I'd use the sport wing and this is a very easy plane to build. Maybe grandpa already has a engine and radio too. I know I would give my grandchildren any thing they needed to get in the hobby. Let us know how it goes. Dennis
Old 12-08-2008, 05:49 PM
Alex570

He probably has an engine, I'll get a radio. How long should it take to build if him and I work on it?
Old 12-08-2008, 07:01 PM
farr301

SPORT WING SPORT WING SPORT WING. It's also called the b-wing. I have the A wing, and it has too much dihedral and catches any wind. I'm not the only one who thinks this. otherwise, great plane. I crashed once and ripped the landing gear out so i replaced it with dubro landing gear that i like much better.

Good luck,
Farr301
Old 12-08-2008, 07:18 PM
Jester241