Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

need engine for H9 TWIST

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

need engine for H9 TWIST

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2008, 08:17 PM
peterpiper

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need engine for H9 TWIST

hello,
i am in the midst of building a hanger-9 TWIST 40. the only engine i have right now is a o.s. 46LA i would like to find another one for it that has plenty of power
for now i would like to stick with a 2-stroke just because im still a beginner.

here are a two i have been looking at

o.s. 46AX
super tigre g51

like i said i want to know what you guys think. i would like enough power to do harriers and hover.
Old 12-15-2008, 08:49 PM
ChuckW

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: need engine for H9 TWIST

Personally, I'd go for the .46-AX. I had a twist with one of these using an APC 12.25x3.75 prop and it was a great match.

I've also owned the Super Tigre .51. I know they can be a great engine and many people love theirs. Mine was pretty temperamental though. I consider myself very good in the engine tuning department but that particular engine was a pain. You'd correct one problem only to have another. Maybe I just got a lemon.
Old 12-15-2008, 08:51 PM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

The plane would be great with a Saito 82 up front
Old 12-15-2008, 09:07 PM
ChuckW

Yu also mentioned being a beginner. How much time do you have on a trainer? If you've done well on that and a low wing sport plane, you should transition to the Twist just fine. If not, keep in mind that the plane is aptly named. It is a very responsive, extremely maneuverable airplane and it can get away from you in a hurry if you aren't ready for it.
Old 12-15-2008, 09:29 PM
microsprint9

I had a TT PRO.46 on mine spinning an APC 12x4 and i found this to be a great combo.
Old 12-15-2008, 09:38 PM
peterpiper