Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Plastic Spinner

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Plastic Spinner

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2008, 01:26 AM
jg95762
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Plastic Spinner

I am new to Nitro engines and have a plane that came with with Plastic Spinner. The engine is a Super Tigre 45 which is an ABC non-ringed engine. It is very tight. I just tried to start the engine with an electric starter and it melted the outside of the spinner! It could not turn the engine over. I can turn it over by hand but it is tight. Should I just buy a replacement aluminum spinner or is the engine defective? I read in another post that plastic spinners can explode, and I can see why, so I am kind of scared at this point!
Old 12-23-2008, 02:01 AM
ChuckW

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Plastic Spinner

Plastic spinners are very common and generally work just fine. I've seen a few that come with cheapo ARF's that were problematic but most quality plastic spinners are no problem.

Your super Tiger will be very tight when cold, especially when it is new. Try turning the engine clockwise (looking from the front) until it comes up on compression. Then get your starter spinning while not touching the spinner. Now quickly push the spinning starter up against the spinner. Usually this will work.

Also a few drops of oil on top of the piston and manual cranking by hand for a few minutes helps too.
Old 12-23-2008, 02:30 AM
jg95762

Chuck - thank you!! I just tried your approach and the engine turns over and is now much looser. Amazing. Thanks again for the help.
Old 12-23-2008, 09:58 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

The first part of Chuck's advice is right on (Turn the prop clockwise). This gives the prop a "Running Start" before it hits the compression.