Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Complete beginner's guide

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Complete beginner's guide

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2010, 01:03 PM
mrfourtysevenman
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Complete beginner's guide

Some people who get into this hobby don't know how to take proper care until they have crashed. I hate to see this happen.
here is my Beginner's Complete Guide for this hobby.

1) Airplanes;
you want to get a trainer airplane. i would suggest investing in Realflight because it will teach you the basics.
buy a trainer airplane. i actually learned how to fly on the u-can do .46, a 3d aerobatic plane but because of it's airframe it can be really easy to fly and has low speed abilities. beginners dont like to fly fast. my idea of a trainer is the avistar. it flies GREAT! it's not just a trainer but you dont want to take it out of the air. most trainers get boring. this doesnt.

2)
engines and settings
say you have the Hobbico avistar or nexstar. a .40 sized plane. a .40 engine will fly it with enough power and be fuel efficient because of its size. a .45 will be a blast to fly it on.
the needle valve sets the fuel to air ratio. if you have it running rich (more fuel than air) smoke will sure be spraying out of the muffler and your engine can get damaged.
if you run it lean (less fuel, more air) there is higher pressure pumpung fuel in but less fuel. the engine can get hot at this setting. you want your engine running perfectly in the middle.