Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Pattern Universe - RC Pattern Flying > Classic RC Pattern Flying
Reload this Page >

Options for electric classic pattern planes

Notices
Classic RC Pattern Flying Discuss here all pre 1996 RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Options for electric classic pattern planes

Old 05-22-2014, 05:55 PM
dave_anderson
My Feedback: (47)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Options for electric classic pattern planes

Hi fellas,

i have a really great flying field near my home, but it's residential and all I can fly are electrics. I'm a fairly experienced r/c pilot and have built several classic pattern ships for glow power. I really miss flying those classic birds and was wondering, which are good subjects for electric power?

Let's say 70's and early 80's ships (ballistic type).

If you've done one or know of someone who has had success with this, please let me know.

it would be even better if you knew the equipment used (motor, sec, battery, prop, etc...).

Thanks in advance.
Old 05-22-2014, 08:15 PM
countilaw

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Dave,
Most any Classic or Vintage pattern plane can be adapted to electric power. There are several pattern pilots that compete in the local contest with electric power.

The biggest hurdle is getting to the batteries without having to take the wing off. As most pattern planes don't have hatches for battery access.

However, the Super Kaos can be built with a hatch where the fuel tank would have normally been located. Since you won't need a fuel tank, this makes a perfect place for the battery.

On June 28th, we will be having the 2nd Annual Golden Triangle Aerobatic Convention and you can get a first hand look at electric pattern planes. We are located in Grand Prairie, TX You can also compete with the rest of the guys. You don't have to be an Expert pilot to compete.

Frank
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3616.JPG
Views:	1488
Size:	165.0 KB