Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
Reload this Page >

PLASTER OF PARIS MOLD PROBLEM

Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

PLASTER OF PARIS MOLD PROBLEM

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2009, 08:12 PM
SHERDILL
My Feedback: (6)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PLASTER OF PARIS MOLD PROBLEM

This is my first attempt copyingABS cowl into fiberglass,i used plaster of paris to make a mold,iused a thin layer of petroleum jelly as a release agent onthe cowl,but it still got stuck,according to the box the plaster sets in 30min so I waitedover night to be safe, it felt totally hard and dry to the touch when i tried to pull the cowl out.I am wondering was it not 100% dry or moisture free is that is why it got stuck ordid inot put enough petroleum jelly.I used petroleum jelly sparingly cause i was worried later when i will trysealing the moldtoo much petroleumJelly will create problems as well...?
Old 06-22-2009, 08:53 PM
Pitts S1S
My Feedback: (9)

Default RE: PLASTER OF PARIS MOLD PROBLEM

To remove the moisture you'll either have to wait a few weeks for it to cure, or I put it in the oven at 150 degrees for about 4 to 5 hours.
Old 06-22-2009, 09:10 PM
bigtim
My Feedback: (13)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

when I did my mold from plaster I pulled the cowl front out of the plaster after it was set, about a hour, so it would release from the plaster cast, plaster tends to shrink,just a littlewhen drying so it can tighten upon a subject, it took a few days to fully cure after that.
for a release agentI used pure carnuba car wax, the one I used was a liquidtype wax, but paste wax in the can works as well, after at least 3 coats buffing each before applying the next then the molding process can be done.