Notices
Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

Registration for CL????

Old 02-20-2016, 04:11 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Registration for CL????

I can't seem to get a straight answer anywhere but do CLs need to be Registered? They are UAS but some people say since it is tethered they don't??
Old 02-20-2016, 06:21 PM
  #2  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madrid, IA
Posts: 234
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The current interpretation from AMA (and mind you, this could change .... several times yet) is that control line models do NOT need to register, unless they use RC for throttle or some other feature. I have emails from FAA staffers who also say that control line models are NOT considered to be UAS and thus do not need to register. So given these two sources, I figured the prudent thing to do was to go ahead and register, which I did while it was still free. It took about 5 minutes and now it doesn't matter if we do or do not need to register. Now it costs $5. The MAIN reason I registered is because I intend to fly at the NATS again this year, and I don't want a last minute decision by AMA to REQUIRE registration in order to fly at contests or the NATS to bite me when I get there. If not for that, I would not give it a second thought -- there is no way for FAA to enforce registration on control line models since there is no way for them to detect when and where it is happening.
Old 02-22-2016, 09:14 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply. I guess for only $5 it would be worth doing regardless.
Old 02-23-2016, 06:57 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: , MD
Posts: 53
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Be glad you don't live in DC. We can't fly unless we leave town, period, registration or not. Not even CL!!!
Old 02-25-2016, 11:22 AM
  #5  
My Feedback: (1)
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,252
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by xby-1
Be glad you don't live in DC. We can't fly unless we leave town, period, registration or not. Not even CL!!!

Wow, that includes CL? That is terrible. Sorry. Talk about an over reactive Gov. I wonder what they are scared of?
Old 02-25-2016, 11:47 AM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: , MD
Posts: 53
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

They are strictly focused on drones and they throw all models in the same box. Someone I know at the FAA said they consider the AMA quaint and amusing. Shows the FAA's attitude towards models and modelers
Old 02-25-2016, 01:14 PM
  #7  
My Feedback: (1)
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,252
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

From what I understand, the FAA has a lot of turn over as well. So the AMA will or would negotiate something with someone, then the next group would not stick to the agreement. We have a guy in our club that is on the AMA committee regarding this issue. He is a professor at a local university. We talked about this at our last club meeting. He said he was very disappointed with how things have turned out. To include CL in all of this though, just goes to show you how asinine our Gov. can be, and dangerous as well.
Old 02-28-2016, 02:34 PM
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 713
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

There is another problem...

If the FAA inspires any agency to enforce their often changed "policies," be sure that the latest details will not be available to the guy you will meet.

Attempts to explain our understanding of things to an Officer sent out to shut you down are likely to be taken as obstructing enforcement, and you may get to meet his desk sergeant.

Most recent word from AMA reps talking with FAA reps is that CL is not of interest to FAA airspace use. To a low level enforcer we'll probably sound as if we are claiming our models are not relevant because they are painted (or covered) a certain color. Reaction? Bovine Scatology!

It doesn't really help to criticize ourselves, enforcement agencies, AMA or whoever... That just spreads bitterness and resentment (even if definitely earned...) If we want to keep flying, I'd prefer to see more constructive, positive comment and conduct.

It's been the 'bad guys' flying large, heavy RC drones in dangerous and irresponsible ways that brought the situation up. I'd like to see those yahoos punished seriously, or am I now being bitter and divisive?
Old 02-28-2016, 04:34 PM
  #9  
My Feedback: (1)
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,252
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

I put the blame more with electric multi rotor copters, flying beyond line of sight, with cameras. Then posting videos all over youtube to prove how cool they are by what they have done.

The AMA did not do themselves any favors by embracing these flying machines, and not creating a clear separation of what they do, and what we do. Now it seems we have to go back after the fact to try to educate the laymen of the difference.

As someone who has taken model aviation very seriously for a long time, I am now moving away from RC. It is losing it's appeal to me. And after getting my CL models out again, I have realized it is more fun. I in particularly love flying with guys that I consider my peers, as opposed to most that I meet at the RC clubs.

My interests are primarily competition, which in RC are rare. In CL almost everyone competes. THose are the folks I feel most comfortable around. In particular the combat guys. We just have too much fun!

With all of that being said, I am sure CL will not be bothered. But RC will be for sure. And it would not surprise me if RC is just shut down all together eventually.
Old 02-28-2016, 05:24 PM
  #10  
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I suspect there is a very sensitive radar system being installed in the DC area. Drones could be used to deliver a small bomb to the white house. For a radar designed to detect such items, hobby drones will be a confusion factor for such a system
Old 02-29-2016, 09:08 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho falls ID
Posts: 368
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dirtybird
I suspect there is a very sensitive radar system being installed in the DC area. Drones could be used to deliver a small bomb to the white house. For a radar designed to detect such items, hobby drones will be a confusion factor for such a system
By the time they detected a RC plane there would be little chance of stopping it.It is a little scary if you think about it how easy it would be to put a bomb on a rc plane and fly it into what ever.When will the towel heads figure that out?
Old 04-30-2024, 10:30 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Location: Granbury Texas
Posts: 411
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

If your registered and have your FAA number for three years is five dollars. Now also trust is a good Idea. And it takes you off the list. As a known flyer. Be it U Control. I am out of RC sense about two years ago. Now go find a circle. That's a problem. But I am still searching!AJ
Old 04-30-2024, 12:03 PM
  #13  
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,073
Received 361 Likes on 290 Posts
Default

C/L doesn't require registration or TRUST test.

Also for RC the TRUST test isn't "recommended" its federal law.
Old 05-01-2024, 08:11 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Location: Granbury Texas
Posts: 411
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Texas clubs are requiring Trust and also the Faa registration pire and really simple. I am well aware it's not required in the circle but a gray area Here, if you are flying in a circle at the RC field. You best have it just like the AMA membership. I hear what your saying, but from State to county the rules are different. And just saying you don't need it. Will not cut the butter.AJ
Old 05-01-2024, 08:58 AM
  #15  
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,073
Received 361 Likes on 290 Posts
Default

Sorry I wasn't more clear.

Control line operations do not require TRUST, Remote ID or Registration.

Will it hurt anything? No

Can local laws supersede the FAA? Again, no.

Old 05-02-2024, 09:22 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Location: Granbury Texas
Posts: 411
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

I really think you all are missing a very important point. And local county laws can superceed FAA regs not to the point of disreguard a Fed reg to apply an amendment to that Reg. Requiring what ever. Much better to be covered and not need it. Than to have an issue and not have it. It's all about tort. And we are seeing this in today's court system. And how Politics measure into the courts. You ask AMA about the Trust program and they comply, along with the FAA mandate on Registration. Today Our U Control is in the possible resolution that in the future. It could and will probably be included. Example District of Columbia!, Austin Texas, the Commanchee peak. And several other sights thru out our country enforce the mandate.our county restrict U Control flight with in five miles of our local GA airport. And with in two hundred of an active power line. And any sub power station it's longer don't know that distance. I am supported but legal council and they said get it. You might need it in defence of a complaint.AJ
Old 05-03-2024, 06:09 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Location: Granbury Texas
Posts: 411
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

I was flying at the junior high ball park, off season and was visited by the local county officer. He and his son flew RC at the Wamms and said why don't you fly at the RC field. I told him the circle was a joke. And interfeered with the RC operation. The two just don't mix well. My opinion. So not having a field is not good. But a few of us are working on it by the industrial park by the bypass. It's five miles and our flight height is around sixty eight feet. That's Thirty feel below and more than four hundred with in the reg. But keep in mind the above field elevation is six hundred and ten feet above sea level. That's where they got us on elevation. And they are pretty admit about it. Don't really know what to do about the field elevation. Where I live the field is 635.ft. And flying my plane puts me over 700 ft. On a wing over. Minimum of 500ft suggested at a none controlled airfield do the guys fly that, No they don't. Do you can see the conflict. AJ
Old 05-03-2024, 06:16 AM
  #18  
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,073
Received 361 Likes on 290 Posts
Default

What does the field elevation have to do with anything?
Old 05-03-2024, 06:53 AM
  #19  
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: pueblo, CO
Posts: 709
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

A lot of over thinking going on here!
Old 05-03-2024, 07:13 AM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Location: Granbury Texas
Posts: 411
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

No guys not at all. If your a rated pilot and fly field elevation is what you look at. And you set your altimeter at the field elevation and baro pressure. Remember high to low watch out below. We do this prior to take off. Like flying in Colorado mile high city. Most of it's over five thousand feet. Compared to flight density altitude in Texas. On a hot summer day your performance can easily increase up to eight thousand feet in Colorado and in one hundred degree weather lots of humidity you can see Texas will go over five thousand feet. Many mistakes have been made. I see it often at our airport. And that can cause issues flying my U Control on my airfield. I know and realize several don't understand what I m trying to explain. Their is a lot to control line flying. And when I see what is about to occur. It's the largest reason why all of us need to understand. The best deal fly U Control at sea level. But that not possible. Where I live. AJ
Old 05-03-2024, 07:30 AM
  #21  
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,073
Received 361 Likes on 290 Posts
Default

I still don't understand what you're trying to express.

If you're flying full scale you're not staying over 500 foot baro you're flying over 500 feet AGL.

I don't fly C/L but I don't think you're flying that far over your head. So unless you're next to a heliport or on the approach or departure end of a runway, I don't see 80 feet over your head as an issue.

Edit: I'm not being snide, I'm truly trying to understand what the issue is.
Old 05-03-2024, 01:30 PM
  #22  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Location: Granbury Texas
Posts: 411
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Well the fact remains in un controlled air space some guys fly as low as they want to. Five hundred feet Is the norm but several guys don't follow the rules. I live on an Private airport south end two thousand four hundred foot by two hundred foot wide runway. It's an ease meant so we all own to the center of the runway. One acre lots. I fly in southerly winds only so aircraft are taking off on the south runway. My lot 15 is located about three hundred feet from the end of runway 17. Trees and power lines at the south end of at least one hundred feet tall. Our field elevation is 635 foot above sea level. So the standard pattern altitude is 1,635 feet. If they are using the pattern. Many don't, they fly straight in. Not in the pattern. When I fly my UC I place three red pennants on my windsock pole. All the guys at the airport know what that means. But transit planes don't know that. I fly with a spotter. Wish We had a circle, but we don't so you make the best of it, build and fly. Average flight is about three minutes. AJ I am thinking about another incident at a Airport in the DFW area. I recall reading about it, when I was in the Brazos buzzards. Our news letter. A model hit a Cessna 150 snagged the control lines and lucky the handle was not teathered to the guys wrist. The model hit the plane prop which forced an off field landing. The pilot did not set his altimeter prior to take off. Realised it and set the altimeter after Take off. He was to low and was lost. This happened year's ago. But I recall the very unfortunate incident.

Last edited by AJ Sun; 05-03-2024 at 01:43 PM. Reason: Remembered
Old 05-03-2024, 01:59 PM
  #23  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Location: Granbury Texas
Posts: 411
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

I kinda understand what your saying Florida. My lines are fifty eight feet long I stand six foot and my arm is around thirty inches long and my average plane is 33 inch up to 36 inch wing span with a six inch with lead control. That hooks up, to my lines. Not counting the four clips that attach all this.a plane taking off should be at over one hundred foot hopefully five hundred foot at my lot. When he departs runway 17. South runway. If he fails to set his altimeter and I am flying my three minutes. It can get really close. If I just happen to be in a overhead wing over. That's why I have AMA, Trust, and a FAA registered number. AJ

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.