Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Wiring multi engine edf

Old 05-12-2019, 06:11 PM
  #1  
TTMT
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 347
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wiring multi engine edf

I have the Airbus A380 edf. I bought new escs for it. Can I use Y-harnesses to connect all the power wires and all the servo wires so they run from one battery and one receiver?
Old 06-17-2019, 05:38 AM
  #2  
pimpmycnc
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yes that works. You can think about using only one bec wire and pull the red line of the other escs out.
Old 06-17-2019, 10:19 AM
  #3  
TTMT
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 347
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you!
Old 06-18-2019, 01:07 PM
  #4  
ron_van_sommeren
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nijmegen / Nederland
Posts: 475
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Too long battery wires can kill ESC: precautions, solutions & workarounds - RCG
Keep controller(s) close to battery, if possible, and extend motor wires instead.
Keep the battery wires short, or else install extra capacitors, all on/near ESC.
Contents
  • Example Name:  frown.gif
Views: 38
Size:  1.0 KB four costly controllers consecutively cremated
  • Solutions I & II, rules of thumb
  • Problem
  • Capacitor type & polarity (orientation!)
  • How & where (not) to add extra capacitors
  • DIY capacitor pack pictures
  • Capacitor & pack suppliers
  • Expert/manufacturer opinions, they all say the same ... & their rules of thumb
  • Explanation, water hammer/knock analogy, theory, references, measurements

Vriendelijke groeten Ron
• Without a watt-meter you are in the dark ... until something starts to glow •
e-flight calculatorswatt-metersdiy motor tips&tricksCumulus MFC

Last edited by ron_van_sommeren; 06-18-2019 at 01:15 PM.
Old 06-18-2019, 01:12 PM
  #5  
ron_van_sommeren
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nijmegen / Nederland
Posts: 475
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pimpmycnc View Post
Yes that works. You can think about using only one bec wire and pull the red line of the other escs out.
But not when they are optocoupler ESCs, otherwise the optocoupler LED does not get power. No pulse/information from receiver to controller.
I'm not referring to the HobbyKrap opto nonsense/lies, where opto means no-BEC. (I call a car without a steering wheel diesel. Very obvious, right?).

Vriendelijke groeten Ron
• Without a watt-meter you are in the dark ... until something starts to glow •
e-flight calculatorswatt-metersdiy motor tips&tricksCumulus MFC



Do not cut the red wire, you may need it again in another plane.

Click image for larger version

Name:	user38_pic109922_1338992600.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	43.5 KB
ID:	2264673 Click image for larger version

Name:	user38_pic109923_1338992600.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	54.1 KB
ID:	2264674 Click image for larger version

Name:	user38_pic109924_1338992600.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	2264675

Last edited by ron_van_sommeren; 06-18-2019 at 01:15 PM.
Old 06-21-2019, 06:04 AM
  #6  
TTMT
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 347
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for a lot of very helpful information.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.