Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Time to convert?

Old 07-26-2009, 07:09 PM
Jetdesign
My Feedback: (8)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Time to convert?

10 hours, 500 miles, roughly two tanks of gas, and a quart of oil... a grand total of $150 today for 6 gallons of glow fuel. I was thinking about electric flight the entire time.

My situation:

I'm in college for another year and a half and live nowhere near a decent hobby shop (hence the 4 hour trip). I'm relatively new at flying planes - this is my second summer. I'm currently flying...well it's posted at the bottom... and am ready to move up to a higher quality pattern ship. I'm flying Sportsman, coming in a close second every time this summer. Have a dream of Nats next summer and making that the time to move up to intermediate.

I was starting to look at the YS 1.40's, however I just started having my first troubles with my YS 1.10 and the thought of burning even more than my current 20 gallons/summer is pretty unnerving.

The switch to electric seems obvious, right? Maybe not...

Having a fleet of 3 glow planes and a full bore electric pattern plane sounds cumbersome; my apartment and car are pretty small. Converting my fleet to electric is too expensive to do in a year, and my biggest question/concern: the learning curve.

Is it a bad idea to start with lipo/electric power with twin 5 cell batteries, $200 ESC's, and (roughly) a $1000 airframe? Being in my situation I probably would end up with Zippy battery packs and Turnigy electronics, at least to start.

I love watching the electric pattern ships - they glide by silently and full of grace, then explode tons of energy instantaneously into limitless verticals.