Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Fuse before ESC ?

Old 11-15-2009, 07:12 AM
  #1  
mtcarey
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newell, NC
Posts: 281
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Fuse before ESC ?

Pros and cons for a fuse between the ESC and Battery?

Yea I'm New...[&:]
Old 11-15-2009, 01:15 PM
  #2  
ntsmith
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bishop\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'s Stortford,
Posts: 350
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Fuse before ESC ?

They blow - risk a fuse or risk the plane.
I have never used one yet and cant think of anyone who has.
Old 11-15-2009, 04:06 PM
  #3  
Jason Arnold
 
Jason Arnold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,341
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Fuse before ESC ?

Depending upon the application, the fuse would need to be of a very high current rating. Some of the F3A motors are drawing 80+A during a flight. If the fuse was to blow during a flight then you have a deadstick.[]

If you're using a small electric with a fuse and the ESC has a BEC, should the fuse blow you'll have no power to your Rx. That would be healthy.. [&:]

Adding a fuse will not only add another failure point but will also increase the circuit resistance with the fuse and extra connections needed.

You just don't need a fuse as the electronics these days are pretty reliable.

When something is about to go wrong you usually have a good warning i.e. noise or power lower than normal. When something seems abnormal, land and check it all out.

Cheers
Jason.
Old 11-15-2009, 04:13 PM
  #4  
f3a05
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Saffron Walden, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 562
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Fuse before ESC ?

When something is about to go wrong you usually have a good warning i.e. noise or power lower than normal.
In my experience, smoke is another good indicatorWhite smoke== unhappy battery;
Black smoke== ESC just fried.
Old 11-15-2009, 04:22 PM
  #5  
Jason Arnold
 
Jason Arnold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,341
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Fuse before ESC ?

Funny you should say that... I saw an electric take off with a funny noise and shortly after I asked him when he had the smoke system installed...

He was very lucky to get the model on the ground to disconnect the LiPo. It was a .40 size electric and one thing he didn't have was an external arming pin/connector. He had to remove the battery hatch to disconnect things and risked getting burnt.

Cheers
Jason.
Old 11-15-2009, 07:09 PM
  #6  
Walt Thyng
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 1,867
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Fuse before ESC ?

To the best of my knowledge you would NEVER put the fuse between the battery and the ESC, between the ESC and the motor YES.
Walt
Old 11-15-2009, 08:19 PM
  #7  
Jason Arnold
 
Jason Arnold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,341
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Fuse before ESC ?

That's unusual...

Normally fuses or circuit breakers are placed between the power source and the load.... The ESC qualifies as part of the load IMHO.

Cheers
Jason.
Old 11-16-2009, 05:19 AM
  #8  
ntsmith
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bishop\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'s Stortford,
Posts: 350
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Fuse before ESC ?

Yes. I learnt that having an external connector on the large planes is a very very good idea. You dont want to fiddle around removing hatches if the darned thing starts to smoke. You need to remove the source which even though slightly less pretty is an external connection.
This is to me much more necessary than a fuse. If its in the air you either have a deadstick or if you use a bec then nothing which really isnt a good thing
Old 11-16-2009, 09:15 AM
  #9  
Walt Thyng
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 1,867
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Fuse before ESC ?

If you put the fuse between the ESC and the battery and you are using BEC you will lose all control.
WT
Old 11-16-2009, 03:18 PM
  #10  
Jason Arnold
 
Jason Arnold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,341
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Fuse before ESC ?

This is true and I highlighted that earlier in this thread. How many F3A controllers have a BEC? I don't believe that any of the big controllers have a BEC so that's probably a mute point for our applications.

Cheers
Jason.
Old 11-17-2009, 08:54 AM
  #11  
Walt Thyng
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 1,867
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Fuse before ESC ?

Sorry, missed the F3A allusion. Of course you're correct on that point.
Walt
Old 11-29-2009, 11:22 PM
  #12  
bjr_93tz
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: ToowoombaQLD, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,019
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default RE: Fuse before ESC ?

But should your electric plane be weighed at registration with the external plug in or out?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.