Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis
Reload this Page >

Draganflyer formilitary use???

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

Draganflyer formilitary use???

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2004, 08:52 PM
Wolfpack duce

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Draganflyer formilitary use???

Hello, I am in getting a draganflyer for my unit to evaluate to take to Iraq. I am brand new to R/C and we are looking for something to do close in examination of potential threats with a video capability. We currently operate a dragoneye UAV but at $20,000 we don't have many to pass around. We want to take the DF apart and pack it into a pack and use it to look places we don't want to send a Marine. The DF is cheap and appears to fit the bill, but has anyone had any experience with it in a dusty environment and any recommendations for weatherproofing/maintenance in that environment, or any other comment on this application? Has anyone painted it?-Lt.V
Old 02-25-2004, 11:03 PM
techcoast

Default RE: Draganflyer formilitary use???

Hello Lt.

I'd be a little more weary to send a fixed pitch heli into a high threat area for this reason alone. Wind. The fixed pitch birds just don't handle wind very well, they tend to move all over the place and that can cost you. I'd recommend the Picollo or the Hornet CP. Both have collective pitch and can handle light winds fairly well. Put a good lithium battery pack (about 20-40 minute run times) and you should have a great bird for recon.

Just my two bits.

Semper Fi!
Old 02-25-2004, 11:46 PM
Super-Hornet

Hi Wolfpack duce

My initial idea of getting helicopter is to mount a micro camera on it and fly using the camera view instead of looking at the chopper. This will give u more real life feeling of flying a chopper.