Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric RC Jets
Reload this Page >

how to choose a controler?

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

how to choose a controler?

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2006, 12:12 PM
vasek
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how to choose a controler?

hi all,

i am new to electrics.... so i need some basic explanations

if i use a mega 16/15/2 (vasafan 65) with a kokam 3200 shd 3s what jeti shoud i hook it up to?

the mega specs the a cont. of about 40 A
the li-po gives 70 A

so 40 A or 70 A? or something in between like a 60 A?

thanks 4 help!
V.
Old 10-18-2006, 04:12 PM
CTulanko

Default RE: how to choose a controler?

vasek,

With the Vasa 65 fan, you will probably pull 30-40 amps depending on the aircraft and ducting. While this makes the 40 amp ESC feasable, it would be better if you purchased a larger ESC, giving you some headroom in the current area. I always suggest buying the largest and best you can up front with the realization you can use it in larger models later on. A 70 amp ESC that supports 2-6S Lipos would be good for anything from your project, all the way to a 90mm midifan setup...it's just smart buying.