Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

New noob here

Old 12-15-2011, 07:39 AM
zeflyby

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New noob here

Hi all

As the younger crowed would say, I am a total noob when it comes to RC, my only actual experience with flying anything was playing Battlefield 1942, which i have to say got me hooked in WWII era warbirds.

After a few hours of reseach on the internet looking at what type of RTF eletric airplane for a noob i decided to get the HobbyZone Mini Champ RTF Electric RC airplane at a local hobby shop near my work, its cheap and it seems easy to fly. The owner of the hobby store has a flight simulator setup at his store and I played with it for about 1/2 hour. He invited me to use his simulator so, my plan is to stop by everyday at his shop at lunch for a quick 1/2 hour simulation flight so I can get used to the controls and eye hand coordination. I guess my only concern is that the control he has setup on his simulator is a lot better than the one that comes with the plane, and is it going to be a major difference ?

I haven't done my maiden flight yet, just got the plane yesterday and its been cloudy and rainy in CT so i might go this weekend weather permitting.

I bought an extra battery, I was wondering if I need anything else?

Old 12-15-2011, 10:03 AM
Lnewqban

Default RE: New noob here

Welcome to RCU!!

Ask the owner to select models with no ailerons in the simulator for you.

Your airplane turns by deflecting the rudder, which is a little different from how airplanes with ailerons turn.

Best luck in your first flights, for which you could benefit from the help of an experienced RC pilot
Old 12-15-2011, 11:11 AM
zeflyby

very good tip, will do.

Old 12-23-2011, 04:08 PM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts