Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

First Plane / Radio

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2006, 02:53 PM
Bob L

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Plane / Radio

I have been reading a lot of discussion threads on recommended first electric planes and radios. I am seriously considering the Hobbyzone SuperCub or the Ready To Fly Fun T-Hawk. Both planes seem to be recommended choices. Both planes come with a 27Mhz radio although I can elect not to get a radio with the T-Hawk. I have flown a Firebird Commander 2 a few times without too much trouble. I will primarily be self taught. Given this information which plane do you recommend?? If I get the T-Hawk, should I get the radio that comes with it or should I get a differnt radio. Two radios that seem to be recommended for a beginner is the Futaba 4EX4A Micro and the Hitec laser 4 Micro. I dont' want to specnd too much on my firts plane and radio but I want to get the most for my money and a relatively easy and robust system to learn with. I am an engineer and tend to over-analyze everything! Please give me you advice based on your experience!
Old 12-22-2006, 02:56 PM
Bob L

Default RE: First Plane / Radio

An engineer I am but I would not stand a chance in a spelling bee!!!!
Old 12-22-2006, 11:24 PM
Slo-V Flyer

The Futaba 4exa is a good investment, though I know you want to keep your budget low, I'd spend the additional $20-30 more and get the 6EXA (total about $160-ish with 3 micro servos) so you can have more channels available as well as more functions for future use. Again, that's my preference (I actually exchanged my 4EXA for a 6EXA a week after buying it when I found out the price difference).