Community
Search
Notices
Everything Diesel Discuss R/C Diesel engines here.

Why (an Enya 11 CX D) Diesel?

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2006, 04:56 AM
efish
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why (an Enya 11 CX D) Diesel?

Hi, I saw an Enya 11 CXD in my LHS and am tempted to add it to my collection. But I have a few concerns and questions. I have no experience with diesels (and all the LHSs seem to be clueless) but I fly glow powered models (mostly 1/2A size).

First, on diesels generally, I've gone through a few other posts, and it seems the main advantage is that they produce a little more torque at lower rpms. The price of that seems to be an uncertain and costly fuel supply.

Have I got that basically right?

Second, on the 11 CX D - is this a good engine? I know the glow powered Enyas have a near cult following (I've got 2 myself), but have no idea about their diesel engines. They certainly cost quite a bit more than other makes. The engine is a ball raced CX engine, so I'm guessing its got a G carb but it seems that it's not schnuerle ported so I'm thinking that it'll have a relatively low power to weight compared to more modern glow equivalents. As a worst case, I'm guessing that if I can't get diesel fuel, I'd just buy the glow head and convert it to run on glow.

Alternatively, I was thinking of purchasing a Davis Diesel Conversion head for an OS .10 LA and/or a Norvel 0.061 (I presently run glow versions of both). Would anyone care to share their experiences with either or both of these conversions?

Thanks.
Old 03-20-2006, 09:22 AM
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (102)

Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default RE: Why (an Enya 11 CX D) Diesel?

E, dieseldan and I each have the Enya .25D, they recommend huge props for it 12x5 and 12x6 I think. We both have numbers somewhere in this Forum, I'll find then. He has the .11D also so he'll jump right in here.
Old 03-20-2006, 11:40 AM
efish