Notices
Futaba Radios Direct support forum Ask any questions you may have about Futaba radios and product here and get answers direct from Futaba

18SZ as a master radio - trainer function

Old 04-28-2018, 11:29 AM
  #1  
FutabaUser1977
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 18SZ as a master radio - trainer function

I'm using my 18SZ radio to train a young student who has a 9CAP.
just when my 18SZ is with full battery (newly charged) the student radio works. Few flights after radio 9CAP starts to beeping and does not command anything else. Until the function menu of the 18Sz is no longer obeyed when I activate the training key (it always goes off).
these radios are not compatible? battery voltage problem (6.6V versus 9.6V of the 9Cap?). Any solution?

regards.
Old 03-29-2024, 10:33 AM
  #2  
CLS
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Prosper, TX
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Using a T16SZ as a teacher trans and a 6EX as a student Trans

I have the same problem with my 6EX 2.4 beeping. Looks like a low battery warning. No control function when I switch to the 6EX for student control. I tried removing the 6EX battery, no change. I tried switching on the 6EX student and the beeping stops, but controls are not consistent.

Any suggestions?
Old 04-03-2024, 12:47 PM
  #3  
hellcat 1
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mt. Vernon , IL
Posts: 227
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I don't think they are compatible. The difference in voltage just doesn't let them work. The master is supposed to power the slave and 6.6 volts just isn't enough for the 9.6 volt slave. I tried the same thing and couldn't find any way to make them work. The manuals say they are supposed too, but it just won't work. I don't think Futaba can make it work either.
Old 04-03-2024, 09:18 PM
  #4  
mongo
My Feedback: (15)
 
mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 3,520
Received 82 Likes on 72 Posts
Default

wonder if the wireless trainer system futaba sold would work with that slave tx?
Old 04-04-2024, 08:55 AM
  #5  
hellcat 1
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mt. Vernon , IL
Posts: 227
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

If you have one it should work. They are no longer available, but you might get one on EBay. You have to have a TX with the rectangular plug for it to work. The older TXs with the round plug would have to have and adapter of some sort to work.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.