Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

Telemetry for gas engine temps(inline twin)

Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Telemetry for gas engine temps(inline twin)

Old 03-21-2015, 04:12 AM
  #1  
SteveD-RCU
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
SteveD-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sault Ste Marieont, CANADA
Posts: 933
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Telemetry for gas engine temps(inline twin)

Ok so I'm putting a Valach 120 inline in my 1/4 scale Spitfire,and the main challenge is cooling the rear cylinder.I'm thinking I'll run a duct from the scoop under the cowl to the rear cylinder and then exhaust it out the exhaust pipes.Also I want to add engine temp sensors to each cylinder.I've been looking at different radio's and the only company that has a bolt on heat sensor is Hitech.Are there others?I like Hitechs telemetry packages but am not overly impressed with the transmitter.Are the cable type sensors offered by the others like Graupner and Futaba ok for gas engines?I would think maybe not..I'm not sure though maybe they would.....any thoughts on this much appreciated.
Old 03-21-2015, 10:40 AM
  #2  
av8tor1977
My Feedback: (6)
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I just love my Hitech Aurora 9. Best radio I've ever had. The CHT sensors are put in between the fins against the cylinder in the hottest part of the engine, and then held there with a small piece of silicone tubing squished into place. Never had a problem with one, nor had it come out.

AV8TOR
Old 03-21-2015, 03:02 PM
  #3  
SteveD-RCU
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
SteveD-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sault Ste Marieont, CANADA
Posts: 933
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Sounds good AV8TOR,the Aurora 9's are on sale up here,been thinking about getting one..
Old 03-21-2015, 03:53 PM
  #4  
ffdez
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Santo DomingoMake Selection, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Spektrum DX8 Tx, DSMX Rx and TM1000 telemetry module is another choice.
Old 03-23-2015, 09:29 PM
  #5  
marksp
My Feedback: (9)
 
marksp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 755
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Suggest not including the DX8 on short list. The entire family (DX6, DX7, DX9 & DX18) have all been refreshed and feature a shared programming model as well as long list of new features. The current DX8 is the old generation at end of life.

Having said that, the current Spektrum telemetry model supports monitoring and logging of 1 temperature sensor, so you have to be OK monitoring the rear only. I have this issue with my twin as well.

Cheers
Old 03-24-2015, 01:59 AM
  #6  
SteveD-RCU
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
SteveD-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sault Ste Marieont, CANADA
Posts: 933
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by marksp View Post
Suggest not including the DX8 on short list. The entire family (DX6, DX7, DX9 & DX18) have all been refreshed and feature a shared programming model as well as long list of new features. The current DX8 is the old generation at end of life.

Having said that, the current Spektrum telemetry model supports monitoring and logging of 1 temperature sensor, so you have to be OK monitoring the rear only. I have this issue with my twin as well.

Cheers
I didn't know that thanks,radios have come a long way in the last few of years.... I wonder whats next
Old 03-24-2015, 06:26 AM
  #7  
av8tor1977
My Feedback: (6)
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

What's next is just controlling the plane with your phone. Can't believe that's going on. Though I guess it makes sense since most people have their phone super glued to their hand all the time nowadays anyway....

AV8TOR
Old 03-24-2015, 10:19 AM
  #8  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The FR-SKY Taranis has an option that will support two temperature sensors and you can get the tx and the sensors for less than $260
Old 03-24-2015, 12:00 PM
  #9  
SteveD-RCU
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
SteveD-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sault Ste Marieont, CANADA
Posts: 933
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dirtybird View Post
The FR-SKY Taranis has an option that will support two temperature sensors and you can get the tx and the sensors for less than $260
Now we're talking ...Thanks dirty bird,I'll check that out....
Old 03-27-2015, 01:14 PM
  #10  
The Ghost
 
The Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UlladullaNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,846
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Turning has the TGY-i10 a 10ch radio with telemetry with up to four inputs. The photo is of my NGH 38 running
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...y_Mode_1_.html

Cheers
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	6.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	156.9 KB
ID:	2084516  
Old 03-28-2015, 02:40 AM
  #11  
SteveD-RCU
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
SteveD-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sault Ste Marieont, CANADA
Posts: 933
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Radios these days are really something,I've been also looking at the Jeti DS-16,pricey but awesome performance .I've heard of sequencers to auto open/close gear doors,flaps and such,but not accelerometers were one could say put the brakes on by tilting your radio back towards yourself..incredible stuff these days...
Old 03-28-2015, 09:27 AM
  #12  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The Taranis will do everything the Jedi will and it costs much less. It may seem foolish to fly a $10000 jet with a $200 transmitter but there are people doing it.
I have had my Taranis for 18 months and never had a glitch
Old 03-28-2015, 09:47 AM
  #13  
SteveD-RCU
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
SteveD-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sault Ste Marieont, CANADA
Posts: 933
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dirtybird View Post
The Taranis will do everything the Jedi will and it costs much less. It may seem foolish to fly a $10000 jet with a $200 transmitter but there are people doing it.
I have had my Taranis for 18 months and never had a glitch
I agree,I really like what Fr Sky is coming out with..especially the price
Old 03-29-2015, 04:43 PM
  #14  
hobbychina2010
Member
 
hobbychina2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Yongkang, TX, CHINA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Fr Sky radio good price

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.