Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DA 50cc

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2015, 11:12 AM
gbranzell

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up DA 50cc

So I'm new to gasoline engines (last 6 months or so) and here is my take on this engine.

Please ignore the thumbs down on the link page. Hare lip on my part!

This post is meant mostly for new gas users like me.

1. I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!! Bad ass smooth and reliable.Way better than glow stuff waaaaaaaaaay better. And I did not get a"good one" it was always good I just needed to learn it's quirks GRAAAAAADUALLY. Slow down here newbies!!
2. I did not love it at first!!
3. I did fly high so I could deal with any issues early on and you should too! I had about 10 dead sticks early on. These were the "Dreaded DA50 inverted dead stick" Now I realize it was all related to break-in, needle setting and proper cooling. Not bad fuel delivery or plumbing,carburetor defects,in cowl air pressure etc, just break-in and needle setup. If you fly around like gramps (me) and listen to the engine and just break her in you are not likely to have any dead-sticks!
4. If you're crashing airframes with a new engine flying prop hangers at 10ft.........well, like Sir Charles Barkley sez, "ya- a knuka head!"
5. I'm a glider pilot too, so dead sticks are sorta intuitive. My plane glides as good as any of my gliders!
6. Get your engine compartment cool whatever that means to your airframe mine was easy (I have a Pilot RC 29% SBach sweeeeeet!)
7. Get the engine running good and don't do any inverted flight, 3d, or weirdness until you get 4 or more gallons of gas through it. It will get stupid smooth (with your needle tweaks if need be as you go) after it has eaten that grocery count