Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

First fuel engine - what do I need?

Community
Search
Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

First fuel engine - what do I need?

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2016, 11:27 AM
CF105

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First fuel engine - what do I need?

I've been flying electric for several years now, but moving into GS warbirds I've decided that gas is more practical. My first engine is enroute: a Zenoah G62. It's going in a 1/5 scale Wildcat.

I've scoured the sticky for gas newbies; lots of good info, but still lacking a critical piece of the puzzle: what do I *need* to run this thing?

What I know:

- Engine
- Fuel tank
- Gas compatible tubing
- Filtered clunk
- tank vent if I use a 3-line setup
- static air vent for the carb?
- Throttle servo
- Ignition battery (size?)

What am I missing?
Old 02-28-2016, 03:16 PM
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)

The first thing you woll need is a mount. I take a piece of 2x4 about 3 ft long and nail a 4in sq piece of 1/2in plywood to one end and mount it to the plywood. Then I bolt the 2x4 to a bench. Dont try to use clamps,
Make sure the stopper in your tank is compatible with gas.
now all you need is a strong arm. If the G62 is magneto pay close attention to the instructions on how to mount the prop,
A glove will be handy
Old 02-28-2016, 04:48 PM
CF105

Oh yeah - I did know about the stopper. Thanks for reminding me!

So sounds like you're talking about a "test stand" for breaking in the engine. That is good info, but I'm wondering about what else I need inside the plane - if anything.

I could be out of luck with the "strong arm". may have to hit the gym Not enamoured of the idea of hand-propping. I know how my luck goes! Any problems using a chicken stick?
Old 02-28-2016, 05:04 PM
dirtybird

I don't think a chicken stick will do it.You are out of the toy class.