Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

DLE-20 Won't Start After Trying Everything!

Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DLE-20 Won't Start After Trying Everything!

Old 06-29-2020, 03:35 AM
  #76  
Joystick TX
 
Joystick TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: N. Richland Hills, TX
Posts: 1,374
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Al is correct about the ignition having problems on the compression stroke.

Back in the old, old days, when we fixed everything instead of throwing it away, we used to have a spark plug tester. It had two functions, a sandblast cleaner and electronic tester. It tested the plug after it was cleaned to be sure that it would fire and it also put the plug under pressure to simulate the conditions in the engine.

The bottom line is that problems with firing under pressure can be the ignition module or the plug itself. Lucky for us, it is very rare today.
Old 06-29-2020, 04:00 AM
  #77  
hookedonrc
 
hookedonrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,887
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I wonder if the best solution would be a totally new module? I have never been the best at fixing electronics or soldering. I think that is what I will do to eliminate the entire unit. The price, when compared to a new plane and electronics is reasonable. Better to do it now when it's already on the bench and cowl off. Add to that the unavailability of parts for the 182 as well as the plane itself, makes it an easy choice.

Last edited by hookedonrc; 06-29-2020 at 04:16 AM.
Old 06-29-2020, 06:59 AM
  #78  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 5,047
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Buy a new module and while you are at it, order a couple of new caps. If the engine runs ok with the new ignition, Install the new cap on the old Ign and see if it works ok. If so then youíll have a spare ignition and a spare cap. Caps are easy to install using only common hand tools and a heat gun to shrink tubing. Usually less than $10 at many vendors. There are videos out there that show cap installation as well a photos in several forums. If youíre going to be in the hobby you probably need to acquire certain skills and cap replacement is one of them. I donít replace caps often but always keep spares around for when I need them.
Old 06-29-2020, 07:10 AM
  #79  
Joystick TX
 
Joystick TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: N. Richland Hills, TX
Posts: 1,374
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You may as well replace the plug too, they are cheap.
Old 06-29-2020, 01:47 PM
  #80  
hookedonrc
 
hookedonrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,887
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I will check out the videos on cap replacement as I just misunderstood the process. I use heat shrink on a lot of my in plane connections, so am familiar with It. I have a box of various sizes and can select the one I need. As far as replacing the plug is concerned, it is the first thing I do even before a test run. Just pick up a few at my local auto parts store and keep a couple on hand. I never trust the one that comes with the engines. A plug is cheap insurance.
I would like to confirm whether, or not, you use the cap spring that comes with the kits? I have heard both sides.

Last edited by hookedonrc; 06-29-2020 at 01:50 PM.
Old 06-29-2020, 03:28 PM
  #81  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 5,047
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

I do not use the cap spring supplied by DLE. I have seen cases where it actually interfered with the cap going all the way the plug. Other engine companies donít supply the springs even when the same ignition is being used. Regarding the shrink sleeve, it comes with the cap kit.
Old 06-29-2020, 04:03 PM
  #82  
hookedonrc
 
hookedonrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,887
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks, I ordered 2 new caps, and will replace one before buying the ignition module. One thing that I noticed when I removed the cap. The tightening ring is missing. At the top of the cap, it is separated a little. I will put on a new ring when the caps come and see if that makes any difference.
Old 06-29-2020, 05:34 PM
  #83  
Joystick TX
 
Joystick TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: N. Richland Hills, TX
Posts: 1,374
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have five DLE engines and always use the spring. I've flown thousands of flights and never had a problem with them. When the 120 degree caps first came out they were hard for people to get on and I think they blamed it on the spring. The loose caps caused a lot of problems. Most people have learned to make sure the caps are tight now.

The spring serves two functions. One is to prevent the ignition from interfering with your receiver if the cap is loose on the plug, that can cause possible loss of control. The other is to insure that the cap makes a good electrical ground contact with the plug during engine vibration. If the contact is loose or intermittent, the ignition module or the hall sensor can be damaged.

Old 06-30-2020, 02:56 AM
  #84  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,768
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Spring vs. no spring is an endless argument and has been for years. It's purpose is to assure the cap is grounding to the plug. Everybody agrees on that. If the cap is fitting snug on the spark plug, I don't see the need. Your call, do as you wish. Join the debate!
Old 06-30-2020, 04:37 AM
  #85  
hookedonrc
 
hookedonrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,887
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I am sure that the first thing I will do is to make sure the ring around the cap is in place. It is quite possible that the plug is not grounding very well since it is missing. On the spring part, this is my 3rd plane using a DLE, yet the only one with problems. I should have been more observant, but I think the ring was missing after getting the engine and module back from Valley View. I will check the box to see if it is inside.

I looked and the ring is there on each plane, including this one. I am still recovering from eye surgery, and just missed it. On to the cap replacement.

Cub Flyer, I did not mean to hijack your thread.

Last edited by hookedonrc; 06-30-2020 at 04:54 AM.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.