Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

First gasser, CRRC GF40i kit

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2010, 01:28 PM
qwertypemdas
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First gasser, CRRC GF40i kit

I recently bought my first petrol engine for a plane that was given to me by a club member. I've had plenty of nitro engines now and have a few years of experience with all kinds of them and rebuilding etc. But I have a few questions about gas now since I'm completely new to it. I could post some pics if it would help but I think you can all understand this, is the high speed or the low speed needle valve the one closer to the prop? Is there even a high and low speed needle? Do they need adjustment? The manual says to leave `em alone but nitro engines need high speed adjustments daily for temperature and what not. And how much of a turn would be required to run it a lil bit rich for break in? I always break in ALL of my engines on a test stand rather then on the airframe or in flight. So I built up a massive test stand and I got all the equipment necessary to start up my gasser, even the fuel is mixed. But I would really like to know which needle to adjust and how much if at all before I go and melt my engine. I'm running a Zinger 20x8 wood prop on it because that's what they had at my lhs but I'm not sure about it. I never used wood props before only apc and ma and some electrics. The prop seems kinda thin and i don't want to break it so I didn't tighten the prop nut down as much as I think it should be because I'll break the prop, which is like $25 so i don't want to be $50 into props before my engine even starts. How much do I need to torque down the prop because on my .45 nitro engine I just tighten down that apc as hard as I can. One last thing, this engine only has 1 prop bolt going through the center of the prop like all my smaller engines, but do they make really big spinners that are grippy like that on both sides? I'