Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

Home-made servo current meter?

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Home-made servo current meter?

Old 04-23-2011, 06:05 AM
  #1  
butlern
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (15)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Iowa City, Iowa (again!)
Posts: 1,579
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Home-made servo current meter?

Is it reasonable, with some simple soldering, to wire a spare servo extension into a "home-made" in-line current meter (used in conjunction with hand-held multi-meter)?

I've searched here and in 'general' giant scale forums, but only found examples of people using the Hangar 9 servo current meter, or programming their HiTec digitals to set up ganged aileron servos.

I'm ganging my aileron servos, and I'm using Hitec programmable servos, but I don't have the programmer. However, I am using a JR 12x radio, so I can use the "quad servo aileron" function. I just need a way to measure current draw while setting up the linkages.

Of course an easy alternative is to simply purchase the Hangar 9 servo current meter, or the hitec programmer, but I want to start setting up my ganged aileron servos today (and also avoid potentially extraneous purchases).

Anyone done this?

Potential pitfalls?

Thanks,

Noah
Old 04-23-2011, 07:15 AM
  #2  
exeter_acres
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
exeter_acres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 7,457
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Home-made servo current meter?

assuming you have the skills to do this.. no reason not to...

I use a Watts Up meter to set mine up...
Old 04-23-2011, 10:43 AM
  #3  
rcairflr
Senior Member
My Feedback: (44)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Home-made servo current meter?

deleted
Old 04-25-2011, 01:50 PM
  #4  
kerwin50
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston, MO
Posts: 1,378
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Home-made servo current meter?

There is no problem at all, it's your meter is what will make the difference.
Old 04-25-2011, 03:29 PM
  #5  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Home-made servo current meter?

If you already have a multimeter that measures DC current, then you can use some servo extensions to make up a harness and have your multimeter in series with the servo power leads (red or black wires). Not very handy like the H9 but it will work. I recently purchased the H9. It's a must have for giant scale planes.
Old 04-25-2011, 04:10 PM
  #6  
fredscz
My Feedback: (47)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Benton, IL
Posts: 725
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Home-made servo current meter?

Check out this link. http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_10...m.htm#10270397

Hellcat 1 had a unit that he made up published in RC Reports. He made up several for club members. I just used mine again the other day. I like an analog meter better than a digital. He basically used a small plastic box from Radio Shack with red and black "binding plugs" (female banana plugs?) and a HD servo extension. Put it in-line betwen battery and rx and read the results.
Pm Hellcat 1 if you need more info. He's a nice guy and will be glad to help if I got something backwards in my explanation.
Fred

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.