Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

DA-50R or G-62 for 300 Special?

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

DA-50R or G-62 for 300 Special?

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2004, 07:34 AM
plane-o-joe
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DA-50R or G-62 for 300 Special?

[] I'm new to gas and I need help deciding which motor I should go with. Both seem to have good quality and the customer support for both seem similar. What other factors should I consider besides the price? (I believe you get what you pay for!) Are there other motors that I should consider? Also, what support equipment should I be putting together? Please include where the equipment can be found.

Thanks,
Plane-O-Joe
Old 03-23-2004, 03:59 PM
astro

Default RE: DA-50R or G-62 for 300 Special?

[:-] Hi, plane-o-joe. Welcome to the real r/c flying. If it is between the DA 50 or G-62 and you have not bought either yet. Go with the DA50 . May look at the BME 50,( my choice). When talking with any of the co. , they can tell you what support equ. you will need.
www.bmeengine.com BME 44-50:: www.desertaicraft.com DA50 www.catusavation.com 3-w 50;; rcshowcase.com ZDZ 40-60
Old 03-23-2004, 05:32 PM
rctom

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The official Wild Hare position is that the G62 is an excellent engine, use it if you already have one. I suggest that you convert it to electronic ignition and use a lighter weight muffler and the B&B cup mount. The engine/mount/ignition is $560 if you buy this combo it new for comparison purposes.

But if you are going to buy a new engine you'll spend less and have a lighter result with another engine.

The Brison 3.2 that we sell is $469 and includes the syncro-spark timing control, and probably makes as much power as the G62 and 3/4 pound less weight.