Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Glow Engines
Reload this Page >

Need Help Tuning Enya 45 CX TN Engine

Community
Search
Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Need Help Tuning Enya 45 CX TN Engine

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2007, 11:44 PM
SailorTurnedPilot

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Help Tuning Enya 45 CX TN Engine

I am new to RC modeling. Bought a used Carl Goldberg Eagle 2 Trainer that has an Enya 45 CX (TN type carb). Had an experienced modeler help me get it running and an instructor get me off the ground.

Now more on my own and having some trouble getting the engine to run reliably. It was never or hardly run when I bought it. Have now run almost 1 gallon of 15% nitro fuel. after reading some posts on breaking in the Enya engines, I ran one tank full run on the ground following a breakin procedure I found on the web. Running for 5 minutes at a time, alternating between full and half throttle.

Here are the problems. Seems to idle OK after starting and a minute or so of warming up. Holds idle speed without the glow plug battery connected. Throttles up OK. However, if I run it at 1/3 thorttle for 30 seconds or more, it almost always stalls when I idle down on final approach. After a brief flight or two, it will also stall on the bench sometimes on a rapid throttle up. Then starts stalling on throttle down to idle from 1/3 throttle or higher. By the way, being new and this being more engine than is really needed at my skill level on the Eagle 2, I have been flying at about 1/2 throttle as a rule.

I'm running with an OS#8 glowplug.

Here are some questions:

- does anyone have a detailed tried and true break in routine that I should consider now (I understand this is an AAC type engine)?
- does anyone have specific suggestions on tuning to correct this problem?
- does anyone have a recommendation on fuel? 5% 10% or 15% nitro?
- any suggestions on whether the OS#8 is the best plug?