Community
Search
Notices
Great Planes, TopFlite, Duraplane, US Aircore Support from Bill Baxter for Great Planes distributed brands "Great Planes, TopFlite, DynaFlite, Duraplane & US Aircore"

First Warbird Kit

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2005, 02:13 PM
mimhoff
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Warbird Kit

I am planning on building one of the Top Flight Gold Edition warbird kits for a winter project. Like most I have always wanted to have a scale warbird in their hanger. I do not really have a love affair with any particular model and I am a fairly new builder (2 kits) and flyer (9 mos).

I have looked at the Spitfire/Sea Fury/P-51/P-47/P40 -- they all are very attractive airplanes and I think I would be happy with any of them. Is the skill level to build each of these airplanes about equal or are some more difficult to build than the others. I prefer not to build the P-51 because everybody and their dog seem to have one but will consider it if is a "easier" build. I have also been eyeing the T-34B Mentor -- like the large wingspan and what appears to be an easy color scheme.

Any advice on planes I should avoid or gravitate toward given my building and flying experience??

Thanks.

Mark
Old 10-03-2005, 11:05 AM
Bax
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: First Warbird Kit

For all of the Top Flite Gold Edition spoert scale aircraft, the skill level of construction is about the same. If you've built another model or two, you should have no particular difficulties with the build. Just pick the one you like best. They all fly very well if they're straight and within the weight guidelines.
Old 10-03-2005, 10:09 PM
mimhoff

Thanks Bax--

I appreciate the quick response. I just didn't want to choose a kit and then find out it is the most difficult kit you make. My new problem now is which one to choose -- but that is a good problem.
Old 10-04-2005, 12:21 AM
saramos

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts