Notices
Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

Using Dual Receivers with Hitec 2.4Ghz AFHSS

Old 02-09-2011, 06:53 PM
  #1  
sgillmore
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (50)
 
sgillmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Using Dual Receivers with Hitec 2.4Ghz AFHSS

I doing final setup on a 35% Carden Extra 330S and I'm almost convinced that a dual receiver setup is the way to go. I've been using my A9 with a single Optima 9 and SmartFly PowerExpander Pro successfully in a 33% Sukhoi SU-31 for about a year. However, I really like the idea of true redundancy at less cost than a PowerExpander. I'll be using the following servos. Please see attached picture for my channel/switch/servo plan.

HS-7985MG x 4 - Ailerons
HS-7995TG x 2 - Elevator
HS-7980TH x 1 - Rudder
HS-5925 (or similar) x 1 - Throttle

Question 1:
Will this impact range at all? In other words, will the receivers step on each other?

Question 2:
I've been doing some research on this and I'm guessing that Scan Mode will NOT work with a dual receiver setup?

Question 3:
Does Hitec have an official position on running dual Optima receivers in a airplane? Any specific instructions regarding spacing between receivers, etc...?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk25137.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	120.7 KB
ID:	1560970  
Old 02-10-2011, 12:05 PM
  #2  
Brendan Lugo
Senior Member
 
Brendan Lugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 675
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Using Dual Receivers with Hitec 2.4Ghz AFHSS

There shouldn't be any problems using two receivers. Bind and use them in normal mode. The receiver you turn on first is the one you will get the battery voltage from on the display.
Old 02-12-2011, 10:32 PM
  #3  
sgillmore
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (50)
 
sgillmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Using Dual Receivers with Hitec 2.4Ghz AFHSS


ORIGINAL: Brendan Lugo

There shouldn't be any problems using two receivers. Bind and use them in normal mode. The receiver you turn on first is the one you will get the battery voltage from on the display.
Thanks Brendan. I'm also planning to use a sensor station for head temps and RPM. If I plug it into the Optima 9 and always turn the Optima 9 on first, will I receive telemetry data as normal? Thanks.
Old 02-13-2011, 12:41 AM
  #4  
A.T.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Using Dual Receivers with Hitec 2.4Ghz AFHSS


ORIGINAL: sgillmore Thanks Brendan. I'm also planning to use a sensor station for head temps and RPM. If I plug it into the Optima 9 and always turn the Optima 9 on first, will I receive telemetry data as normal? Thanks.
Optima Transceiver (RX) - Dual Redundant receivers - The first turned on after the Transmitter will be the recognised telemetry sender.

ex Hitec USA Support Forum Sticky:
Aurora A9, Spectra Modules & Optima Transceivers - FAQ & Undocumented Features
- Mixes, Setups,Tips. {Individual Links often updated}

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.