Community
Search
Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

is hpi blowing smoke?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2005, 01:11 AM
the dog

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default is hpi blowing smoke?

i have repeatedly called hpi on the issue of running my 4.6 in the cold. they keep telling me that it is no problem as long as the operating temps are not to HIGH.
now, im a beginner so do not do as i do.(my disclaimer)

they say as long as you dont get to hot you can keep leaning it out till it runs good. and of course it is not to hot.
now for the part that you guys say im an idiot. ive turned my hsn out 4 turns. yes im an idiot but, it runs cool still!!! the temps around here have been around -20 to 0F. not to bad. at -20 i run about 4 turns. at 0f i run at around 3-3.5. the motor is not even that hot then. i added a hot os plug today and it ran a little hotter so i may need to richen up a bit. hpi says that it doesnt matter how lean it is as long as it doesnt overheat. well if you think about that the cooler it is the less oil is burned. so it is still lubricated in a way. does that make any sense? to me it does.

so my whole point is that my motor is still running real cool even real lean. i dont think im damaging because its not over heating. i believe over heating is really the only way to prematurely wear these little motors out. am i mistaken?
so if anybody else has an idea that hpi is blowing smoke by telling me that its ok, let me know.
(im gonna buy a new motor for spring anyway, and the hellfire)
Old 12-24-2005, 01:25 AM
itspuddingtime00

Default RE: is hpi blowing smoke?