Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > JetCat Turbine Direct Support
Reload this Page >

P120 Slow accelaration in flight.

Community
Search
Notices
JetCat Turbine Direct Support Ask your JetCat questions here for the experts that know them. MrMatt and Bob Wilcox will field your inquiries.

P120 Slow accelaration in flight.

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2007, 06:51 PM
SteveR
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P120 Slow accelaration in flight.

I have been flying Jetcat engines for about 5 years and found them to be utterly reliable. On the down side are the constant upgrades to the ECU's which, though sporting more functions invariably leave the turbine performing worse.

I suspect that something has been changed on the later Version 5 ECU's that now leave the engine's very slow to accelarate when in forward flight. One model in particular has been affected by the latest upgrade and the engine, on the ground, accelarates normally (3-4 secs) but in the air the spool up time is around the 10 sec mark. Very hard to fly consistantly with that! I have a fellow Jetcat owner has noticed the same in his model.

What can I do to improve the accel times?

I have wondered if the engine is struggling to pick-up from idle, once the engine note can be heard to change then thrust seems to develop soon afterwards.

Any ideas??

Though I am very happy with the reliabilty of my Jetcats, this accel delay is making me seriously consider another manufacturers product.

Cheers,

Steve

Old 01-11-2007, 10:20 PM
mr_matt
My Feedback: (10)

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default RE: P120 Slow accelaration in flight.

Hello,

Sorry to hear you are having trouble.

Do you happen to have a way to download the data from a flight into a computer?

I will talk to Bob Wilcox tomorrow to see if he has any ideas.

I will let you know what I can find out.

Regards,

Old 01-12-2007, 11:56 PM
mr_matt
My Feedback: (10)

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts