Community
Search
Notices
JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Revolution Whip Antenna on a 649 Rx

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2004, 02:28 PM
JSF-TC
My Feedback: (2)

Received 134 Likes on 78 Posts
Default Revolution Whip Antenna on a 649 Rx

Danny,

Based upon a number of posts here on RCU, I have installed a Revolution Whip antenna on my turbine Rafale, and also on my new gas powered Katana. The Rafale checked out OK and I have been flying that for a the last 6 months. I'm using a PCM10X for all my models.

Attempting to range test the Katana, before it's first flight, I could only get 50-60 paces engine off, without the antenna fitted and less than 30 paces engine running. In both cases, the PCM fail-safe did not kick in, but I started to get spurious control surface movements instead.

It's hard to describe, but I am running separate channels on each elevator half and each aileron, and as I increased the range, I would start to get different movements on each elevator half, and on the ailerons. They weren't following the commands smoothly.

We replaced the Rx with a 945 Dual Conversion RX and got 120+ paces engine off, so it's either the 649 Rx, or the Tx or Rx crystal. I have a spare 649 which I'll try next to isolate the Rx or crystals. However, it got me thinking about the antenna. I'll also try replacing the antenna of the suspect Rx and try it again, asuming the spare Rx cures the problem.

I just spoke with a tech at Horizon Hobby regarding the recommendation for fitting a whip antenna and was told NOT to fit a whip antenna, but to use the standard wire. Could this be a cause for the reduced range.

If I get better range with the standard wire compared to the whip, I'll recheck my turbine.

Your advice and recommendation is appreciated.

Thanks

Paul
Old 08-17-2004, 06:35 AM
JSF-TC

Default RE: Revolution Whip Antenna on a 649 Rx