Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

sig hob bipe kit build question

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

sig hob bipe kit build question

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2013, 04:59 PM
bill8308

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sig hob bipe kit build question

hey guys this is my first build things are going very well and looking good but as I look into the future of my build I have some questions. there is a plastic head rest the attaches to the fuse behind the cockpit I was wondering if most paint the head rest and attach to the fuse after the fuse is covered or if u attach the head rest and ultra cote over it, will ultra cote adhere to the abs plastic. I have look at a lot of pictures of others hogs but can not tell how they did it and they all look so good. please let me know your thoughts.
Old 11-20-2013, 05:21 PM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

I have had more Sig Pigs (Hog Bipes) than I can count. On all of them I have thrown away the plastic "headrest" part and carved a new one out of balsa. I do this because first of all I just don't like dealing with thin ABS plastic parts on my planes, and second because it's easier to cover them. After I carve a new one out of balsa I simply cover it with the same covering as the rest of the plane. It doesn't take long to carve out a replacement piece from balsa and really doesn't take much more than 10-15 minutes to carve one out. You don't have to be exact on the replacement part as it's not a critical part of the plane. In fact, I've seen many Hog Bipe owners simply leave that part off of their planes.

Hope this helps

Ken
Old 11-20-2013, 05:38 PM
bill8308