Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

SUITABLE WORK SURFACE?

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

SUITABLE WORK SURFACE?

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2004, 09:56 PM
Safebet
My Feedback: (12)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SUITABLE WORK SURFACE?

I am new to kit building. I know that having a god straight work surface is important. Would any of you experienced builders give me some suggestion on a inexpensive surface that I can build or purchase. I am interested in building 40 - 60 size kits.

Regards,
Jim
Old 11-22-2004, 10:15 PM
wolfie_47

Default RE: SUITABLE WORK SURFACE?

I use interior hollow core doors. They are cheap, they stay flat and are easy to push pins in. When the surface gets a little rough from the pins just sand it smooth again.
Old 11-22-2004, 10:15 PM
ooooo

You'd have to pray really hard for "a god straight work surface" but all prayers aside ..I use a door....yep, go to a hardware store and pick up a flat plywood door. It can take pinning etc etc and it's cheap. Put it flat on a pair of workhorses or make a workbench out of it. Remember though....if you have a couple of beers whilst waiting for epoxy to dry....don't try to open it to get into the house....hehe ok ok....just kidding.
Old 11-22-2004, 10:22 PM
papermache
My Feedback: (35)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Jim,
Get yourself a hollow core door from your local home improvement store. You can often find a second or damaged one (ask) for dirt cheap. Get a couple ceiling tiles to spray glue to one side to accept pins. VOILA! A great flat work surface for a very small investment.

papermache
Old 11-22-2004, 10:23 PM
PDF