Community
Search
Notices
LMH Helicopter Discussion of all LMH helicopters both electric and glow.

Heli Newbie

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2004, 12:42 AM
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heli Newbie

I just won an Ebay auction for an LMH 110.

I have stupid questions......

I have been flying fixed wing for 3+ years and I wanted to get into heli's for various reasons. (i.e boredom, new challenge, different ways to spend money, my 6 year-old thinks they're cool.....)

I have Real Flight G2 and have spent hours flying helis from .049 to .30 sport and others. I can hover almost anything for 3+ minutes on the simulator and auto-gyro a sport heli from altitude.... Way too cool[8D]. Helis have always had a certain draw for me. The LMH 110 looks like a good entry point for me into a new realm.....

I know that I'll want to change motors to VMax7 later as long as I get a non-floating wrist pin for the con-rod. (yes, I've read the posts here.....Dartdrk and Spiro)

Should I buy a Piezo Gyro right away or is the Altron mechanical sufficient? If I go piezo, the Futaba 240 looks like the big dog, but what else works?

I want to know what challenges, differences and experiences y'all have had progressing from fixed wing to helis....

Thanks for your insights,

Steve Dunster
Old 09-15-2004, 12:59 AM

Default RE: Heli Newbie

Heli's are cool. Opens a whole new range of possiblities. With the LMH you can pretty much fly wherever you want.

If you can fly those damn helicopters on G2 you can fly the LMH. Attach the pingpong ball on a stick gear setup for the first few times until you get used to the throttle lag.

The arlton gyro works just fine and IMO helps you become a better pilot faster.