Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Multi Rotor Helicopters
Reload this Page >

The X-I Frame - Something a little different

Community
Search
Notices
Multi Rotor Helicopters Discuss Multi rotor RC Helicopter's here!

The X-I Frame - Something a little different

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2012, 07:15 AM
Thothtp

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The X-I Frame - Something a little different

Edit: It's alive! Photos and video further down

So I am new to multirotors, but have been browsing the forums and reading everything I can for a while now. I have decided that I want to jump in to building one, and I want one stout enough that I can haul a go-pro camera now, and possibly upgrade to full FPV later. I was originally going to go with a bought frame, but being an industrial designer and mechanical engineer by career, with a full prototype shop at work, I decided that designing and building my own would be more fun/rewarding, and tailor it exactly to my needs.
I started thinking about the basic H or X frames, but the H frames worried me with their tendency to twist flex and transmit vibrations, and the X frames had the problem of the props being visible in the video.
So I had the idea to combine a simple X frame with a separate lightweight center frame (the I in the X-I name) to move the camera forward and the battery backwards, and to have that whole frame be heavily isolated from the motor booms for vibration resistance.
Theoretically, by mounting everything heavy and sensitive to a single frame structure, and then isolating that from the main motor/boom structure, it should provide extra vibration damping, while still being light weight and stiff.
That's the theory at least, so here are the pictures.